Changes… Focus, Jobs, Cartoons.

Posted: August 19, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been getting a lot of views on Medium and I am gearing up to concentrate on writing Customer Service themed cartoons. It’s a business segment I’ve worked in since I was 19 years old. Almost 30 years now.

I am randomly submitting a combination of old and new cartoons to The Coffeelicious for publication. I now want to drill down and market cartoons toward the customer service sector. (and maybe publish them on my own, either here or on Medium and hopefully if I can make a decision soon, my own website… which keeps getting derailed.)

In other real world news I lost a job at one car dealership (my day job) and just found one to replace it at yet another Car dealership. It’s a business I want to get out of but I have bills to pay and in another year I will have TWO teenagers in my house so, things are getting more and more expensive. So, we have to do what we have to do.

I am also seeing this as an opportunity to focus doing what I know best (customer service), but using my experiences for material. Anything and everything in life is fodder for writing. The more true it is, the more likely people reading it will be able to relate.

I also have been posting on LinkedIn. I started doing this after I altered my profile to reflect my status as a free agent and working on the writing and cartooning for The Coffeelicious. In the few short days after changing my profile a former employer of mine contacted me for a short-term job at the hotel/resort I previously worked at. I have barely gotten unemployment to kick in and I picked up a part-time job c/o LinkedIn and I used to think LinkedIn was a waste of time.

I started posting to LinkedIn much like I do with twitter, instagram and Facebook. Usually cartoon, cartoon business and writing related posts. My profile says I am CEO of Scott Ebisch Professional Services and a writer/cartoonist contributing to The Coffeelicious on Medium.com. I don’t know if I will add the new dealership gig or not.

But I do know I will point anyone I can to what I am doing on Medium right now. I plan on actually submitting to old school print publications in the near future but I want to get some customer service based cartoons under my belt first and maybe use them to market myself to business publications. Everyone can relate to Customer Service! We are all customers. How much more of a common denominator do I need?

I have never been more optimistic about life than I am right now. Even losing my job didn’t rattle me as much as I thought it was going to. Of course it concerned me, but I knew we would bounce back and fairly quickly. My wife and I as a couple and as a family have endured so much pain and grief in the 19 years we’ve been married between job loss, health issues, death and financial woes that one more job loss and upset to the daily grind wasn’t going to take too long to over come.

The interest in my cartoons is a pleasant turn of events for me and has made all the work up to this point worth the struggle.

I just want to keep the momentum going, carve out my niche along the way and find a way to make some money selling my art at some point in the near future.

Thanks for reading.

Be well.

Leave a Reply

