2014 Goal…

Posted: January 1, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

7 years ago (Dec 2006) I was diagnosed with Renal cell carcinoma AND stage 2 Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

I have been in remission since May of 2007.

Everyone who has heard me tell my story has said I should write a book. I somehow put enough words together to create a manuscript and I started editing it sometime in ’12 and in ’13. But I always stall, lose focus, start cartooning…watching TV, check Facebook or something else and I still only have a manuscript.

I also set out in 2012 to cartoon full time and I have more or less accomplished that. I have posted a respectable amount of work since March 2012. But the book always gets put on the back burner.

One thing I have learned about myself having embarked on that journey is that I actually did accomplish what I set out to do. That being said, the slacker kid inside of me was surprised by that.

So as 2014 begins I am setting another benchmark for myself…to officially finish writing the book and seek publishing by years end if not sooner.

Some how I set my course when I surrendered to my need to create versus my issues with perfectionism. And amazingly creating Won! I was and still am very happy with that.

I will finish writing (editing/rewriting) my book. This isn’t a resolution, just a plan and a goal I know I can achieve, because I did the same thing publishing my cartoons and other random artwork over the last year and a half.

It has to be completed and it has to ship. That is my plan. That is what I will be working on this year. No if, ands or buts!

I would love to have completed this by my 45th birthday this October. That would be a nice birthday present to myself. (note to self)

I hope to keep both blogs busy this year and of course…FINISH THE BOOK.

What are you planning to do this year?

Whatever it is…You can do it, if you set your mind to it.

Be well.

Leave a Reply

